REGULAR BOARD MEETING March 21, 2017

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on March 21, 2017 in the board room at the high school at 7:00 p.m. Board members present: Kathy Ouren, Dena Johnson, Jon Karger, Mike Forsgren, Charlie Blixt, Anne Peterson. Board members absent: None. Others present: Brian Korf, Dr. Ed Richardson, Derrick Nelson, Barb Ripley, Cary Haugrud, Lou Hoglund, Heidi Isaman, Steve Maresh, David Brown, Nadine Brown.

The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Charlie Blixt.

Mike Forsgren moved to approve the agenda as presented. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Jon Karger moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

Approve minutes of the regular February 13, 2017 meeting Approve payment of the 2/29/17 and March bills as presented Approve donations:

To scholarships in memory of Tillie Moerke - \$100

Greg & Rita Hayek

Brian & Connie Evenson

Wayne & Jan Woolever

Doug & Peggy Fischer

Glenn & Colleen Moerke

To scholarships in memory of Cecil Femling - \$20

To scholarships-Class of 1961 - \$300

To Celebration of Cultures-Woessner Insurance - \$50

To Celebration of Cultures-Southtown - \$50

To Celebration of Cultures-Nadine & David Brown - \$20

Personnel:

Hire Carol Graham as JH track coach

Reduce Jon Moe to .5 asst. trach coach for the 2017 season

Accept the resignation of Connie Evenson as asst. girls golf coach

Hire John Eidsness as asst. girls golf coach

Approve a medical leave for Miriah Robles from approximately 4/18 to 5/25

Hire Deb Bruns as a long-term substitute for Miriah Robles for the rest of the school year

Accept the resignation of Emily Evenson as elementary para as of 3.17.17 and Club Vikes Coordinator after training her replacement in this position

Accept the resignation of Kathy Knuteson-Olson as part-time ALC teacher at the end of the school year

Approve lane changes:

Daniel Beck BA+30 to MA (pending receipt of official transcript)

Emily Martin-Thompson BA to BA+15

Linda Grefsrud MA+15 to MA+30

Approve the agreement with Hildi, Inc. for our actuarial study

Approve the Memorandum of Agreement with Southwest Minnesota State University for student teaching for the 2017-2020 school years.

Approve the 2017 Life & LTD Insurance Consortium Participation Agreement with National Insurance Services

The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Jon Karger introduced the following resolution and moved its adoption:

Level IV Programming Resolution

WHEREAS, Pelican Rapids School District #548 recognizes the importance of public education in our community;

And WHEREAS, all children are entitled to an education that enables them to make progress.

WHEREAS, Level IV programming is to serve low incidence disability students who need individualized environments, academic and/or functional skill development and behavior support.

WHEREAS, we agree to participate in space cost recovery through an applicable lease levy arrangement.

WHEREAS, we agree to participate in applicable student program costs.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that Pelican Rapids School District #548 will participate in shared Level IV regional programming in partnership with Lakes Country Service Cooperative, ISD #926.

The motion was seconded by Mike Forsgren and upon a vote being taken the following voted in favor:

Charlie Blixt, Mike Forsgren, Dena Johnson, Jon Karger, Kathy Ouren, Anne Peterson And the following voted against:

None

Whereupon the resolution was adopted.

Dena Johnson moved to accept the resignation of Cindi Strand as elementary teacher effective May 26, 2017. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Anne Peterson moved to accept the resignation of Peggy Mayfield as high school cook effective May 26, 2017. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to	o accept the resignation of David Brown as high school English teacher
effective June 1, 2017.	The motion was seconded by Mike Forsgren and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to accept the resignation of Nadine Brown as Community Ed Director/Achievement & Integration Coordinator, and asst. speech coach effective June 1, 2017. The motion was seconded by Charlie Blixt and carried.

Anne Peterson moved to approve the 2017-18 Master Calendar as presented. The motion was seconded by Mike Forsgren and carried.

The meeting was adjourned.	
Charlie Blixt, Chair	Mike Forsgren, Clerk